Licensed list · Africa · Indian Ocean · KM

Licensed insurance companies in Comoros (2026)

UnverifiedNot yet verified against the BCC register, checked 2 Sept 2026.

The 9 insurance companies licensed in Comoros in 2026, as recorded by the Banque Centrale des Comores (BCC), with the class of business and ownership each one is registered under.

Snapshot

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Ownership unverified7 78%
  • Pan-African group1 11%
  • Domestic private1 11%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

Licensed insurers in Comoros

All 9 entities.

InsurerClassOwnershipGroupVerification
AFG Assurances ComoresCCompositePan-African groupAFG (African Financial Group)Unverified
Alamana AssuranceUNot stated in registerOwnership unverified—Unverified
Amana AssurancesGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic private—Unverified
Assurances Générales des ComorosUNot stated in registerOwnership unverified—Unverified
Big AssurancesUNot stated in registerOwnership unverified—Unverified
Comorian Insurance CompanyUNot stated in registerOwnership unverified—Unverified
MAC AssurancesUNot stated in registerOwnership unverified—Unverified
Masiwa AssuranceUNot stated in registerOwnership unverified—Unverified
Vip AssuranceUNot stated in registerOwnership unverified—Unverified

Full table for Comoros ↗

Regulatory intelligence: Comoros

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Regime
National insurance law (the Comoros is not a CIMA member state); supervision moved from the Ministry of Finance to the Banque Centrale des Comores under its revised statutes (2025); new insurance law in draft
Register source
No official register found. Checked: (1) Banque Centrale des Comores, Rapport Annuel 2025 (https://banque-comores.km/uploads/BCC_Rapport-Annuel-2025.pdf, retrieved 2026-09-26): says the revised statutes extend BCC powers to 'la supervision et à la régulation du secteur des assurances, jusque-là dévolues au Ministère chargé des finances' and that insurance regulation is a 2026 priority; it names no insurers and gives no count. BCC website sections list credit institutions and financial intermediaries only (https://banque-comores.km/page/show/etablissements-de-credit, .../intermediaires-financiers). (2) IMF/World Bank, Union of Comoros Detailed Assessment Report on AML/CFT, March 2010 (https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/297031468032088981/pdf/707010ESW0P1160uation0Detail0Report.pdf, retrieved 2026-09-26), para. 55: the insurance sector 'includes only six companies', mainly motor and travel, no life business; names none. (3) Company websites (per row). Additional named evidence: UNDP, Inclusive insurance and risk financing in Comoros: Snapshot and way forward 2024, p. 27 footnote 53, based on March 2024 company interviews. https://irff.undp.org/country-diagnostic/inclusive-insurance-and-risk-financing-comoros-snapshot-and-way-forward-2024 ; indexed report copy https://undp-irff-uat.assyst-uc.com/sites/default/files/2024/Nov/comoros.pdf ; checked 2026-09-27. The report identifies nine registered-company names; it is not a current regulator licence register.
Verification
Not yet verified against the regulator register · No official register found. Checked: (1) Banque Centrale des Comores, Rapport Annuel 2025 (https://banque-comores.km/uploads/BCC_Rapport-Annuel-2025.pdf, retrieved 2026-09-26): says the revised statutes extend BCC powers to 'la supervision et à la régulation du secteur des assurances, jusque-là dévolues au Ministère chargé des finances' and that insurance regulation is a 2026 priority; it names no insurers and gives no count. BCC website sections list credit institutions and financial intermediaries only (https://banque-comores.km/page/show/etablissements-de-credit, .../intermediaires-financiers). (2) IMF/World Bank, Union of Comoros Detailed Assessment Report on AML/CFT, March 2010 (https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/297031468032088981/pdf/707010ESW0P1160uation0Detail0Report.pdf, retrieved 2026-09-26), para. 55: the insurance sector 'includes only six companies', mainly motor and travel, no life business; names none. (3) Company websites (per row). Additional named evidence: UNDP, Inclusive insurance and risk financing in Comoros: Snapshot and way forward 2024, p. 27 footnote 53, based on March 2024 company interviews. https://irff.undp.org/country-diagnostic/inclusive-insurance-and-risk-financing-comoros-snapshot-and-way-forward-2024 ; indexed report copy https://undp-irff-uat.assyst-uc.com/sites/default/files/2024/Nov/comoros.pdf ; checked 2026-09-27. The report identifies nine registered-company names; it is not a current regulator licence register.

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • Revised statutes of the Banque Centrale des Comores (2025) · Institutional and insurance framework

    Transfer of insurance supervision from the Ministry of Finance to the central bank.

Verification log

Nine source-listed entries: the existing AFG and Amana records plus seven names in UNDP 2024 footnote 53. Added at the owner's request as unverified on 2026-09-27. Current licence, legal identity, class and ownership of the seven additions are not established. Possible aliases remain unresolved, particularly Alamana versus Amana and Comorian Insurance Company versus other historical names. The total counts listed names, not nine confirmed distinct current insurers. The earlier estimate of 2 of 3-6 operators is superseded. AGP Assurances remains excluded because insurer-versus-intermediary status is not established; AMG is a health-coverage scheme, not established as a commercial insurer. Offshore Anjouan captive registrations are outside this evidence.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://africa.insurers.global/api/v1/countries/comoros.json
curl -s https://africa.insurers.global/api/v1/countries/comoros/insurers/pages/1.json